My top 10 social media tools (2011)

Over on Tumblr I have been running a screenshot-a-day project for a couple of years. I layer screenshots upon each other, with an image to represent each day, placed on top of previous images. This functions as a semi-public (open, but not publicised) diary. It also, consciously, forms a record of the online tools I use, and of my digital experience. Sometimes I include a whole-screen shot, showing my applications bar and all open windows, at other times I go for a single image.

This week, I have been looking at the text from 2011, pulling it together in diary format. Wordle revealed my top ten tools, as mentioned in my text, for 2011 (As I was working on SocialLearn, I have excluded it from the list – it would have come in at number 6). The majority are social media, others I use as social media by sharing them via Slideshare (PowerPoints) and Tumblr (screenshots):

  1. Google (31 mentions)
  2. Facebook (20 mentions)
  3. Twitter (19 mentions)
  4. Email   (16 mentions)
  5. Screenshot facility (12 mentions)
  6. SecondLife (12 mentions)
  7. Blog (11 mentions)
  8. PowerPoint (11 mentions)
  9. Tumblr (8 mentions)
  10. Cloudworks and YouTube (7 mentions)screenshot a day
  1. #1 by Ajnin123 on February 20, 2013 - 1:14 pm

    Would you count word press as social media?

Leave a Reply

